Latest Update  

The Red Cross is an international humanitarian network founded in 1863 in Switzerland, with chapters world wide that provide assistance to victims of disasters, armed conflict and health crises. The Red Cross’s roots date to 1859, when businessman Henry Dunantwitnessed the bloody aftermath of the Battle of Solferino in Italy, in which there was little medical support for injured soldiers. Dunant went on to advocate for the establishment of national relief organizations made up oftrained volunteers who could offer assistance to war-wounded soldiers,regardless of which side of the fighting they were on.


The Indian Red Cross is a voluntary humanitarian organization having a network of over 1100 branches throughout the country, providing relief in times of disasters/emergencies and promotes health& care of the vulnerable people and communities. It is a leading member ofthe largest independent humanitarian organization in the world, theInternational Red Cross & Red Crescent Movement. The movement has threemain components, the International Committee of Red Cross (ICRC),192 National Societies and International Federation of Red Cross and RedCrescent Societies.

The Mission of the Indian Red Cross is toinspire, encourage and initiate at all times all forms of humanitarianactivities so that human suffering can be minimized and even prevented and thuscontribute to creating more congenial climate for peace.

·        Indian Red Cross Society (IRCS) was established in 1920 underthe Indian Red Cross Society Act and incorporated under Parliament Act XV of 1920. The act waslast amended in 1992 and of rules were formed in 1994.

·        The IRCS has 36 State / Union Territories Branches with theirmore than 1100 districts and sub district branches.

·        Honourable President of India is the President and Hon'ble UnionHealth Minister is the Chairman of the Society.

·        The Vice Chairman is elected by the members of the ManagingBody.

·        The National Managing Body consists of 19 members.

·        The Chairman and 6 members are nominated by the President. Theremaining 12 are elected by the state and union territory branches through anelectoral college.

·        The Managing Body is responsible for governance and supervisionof the functions of the society through a number of committees.

·        The Secretary General is the Chief Executive of the Society.

Red Cross Photos